The incoming board is elected and the Faculty Advisor sends an email announcement to the law school community.

Schedule a budget meeting with Journals Liaison from the Law Library.

Recruitment: Hold an information session for 1Ls to discuss the write-on application packet and procedures, provide an introduction to the Bluebook.

Issue 1 article selection: Read and assess submitted manuscripts.
 

The Faculty Advisor sends an email announcement to the Law School community listing the new staff members.

Update mastheads.

Issue 1 manuscript editing continues. Deadline Aug 31.
 

Issue 1 source and cite continues. Deadline Oct 15.

Issue 2 article selection and offers: Continue making publication offers to authors. Deadline: Oct 31.

Issue 1 final review continues. Deadline: Winter Break.
 

Issue 2 manuscript editing continues. Deadline Jan 31.

Issue 2 source and cite: Gather documents, place, ILL requests, generate assignments, divide footnotes among staff, archive source documents. Deadline Feb 28.

Issue 2: Student notes/book reviews selected.

Changes to editors manual and bylaws updated and posted

Selection and announcement of incoming editorial board

Issue 1 to Sheridan printer: Upload PDFs of entire issue to Sheridan (printer), approve cover. 

Issue 1 posting to Digital Repository online: create Digital Repository metadata and send to Journals Liaison (along with PDFs of issue). 

Issue 1: Update website, send publication announcements.

Issue 2 final review continues. Deadline: May 31.

The incoming board begins training by reading the Journals Administrative Handbook and shadowing the 3L Board.

Start planning recruitment events and the write-on competition.

Write-on opens one week after finals, closes in mid-June.

Issue 1 Offers: Make publication offers to authors, authors accept/decline, publication agreements signed by author & Library Director or designee. Deadline June 30.
 

Issue 1 manuscript editing continues. Secure author approvals by Aug 31.

Hold new staff orientation/training. Lunch is usually provided to attendees. 

Table at New Student Orientation to kick off recruitment efforts. Contact the Student Services office for more information.

Issue 1 source and cite: Gather documents, place ILL requests, generate assignments, divide footnotes among staff, archive source documents. Deadline Oct 15.

Issue 2 article selection: Read and assess submitted manuscripts.
 

Issue 1 final review continues. Deadline: Winter Break.

Issue 2 manuscript editing: Edit for substance, grammar, and style. EIC/MgE read edited versions, discuss proposed changes with authors and get their approval. Deadline Jan 31.

Distribute information about new board selection process.

The incoming editorial board members will begin shadowing you, urge them to read the Journals Administrative Handbook and work with them to plan recruitment events and the write-on competition.

Issue 2 source and cite: Gather documents, place, ILL requests, generate assignments, divide footnotes among staff, archive source documents. Deadline Feb 28.

Issue 2 to Sheridan printer: Upload PDFs of entire issue to Sheridan (printer), approve cover. 

Issue 2 posting to Digital Repository online: create Digital Repository metadata and send to Journals Liaison (along with PDFs of issue). 

Issue 2: Update website, send publication announcements.

Celebrate completion of your volume and graduate!

Continue shadowing the 3L board.

Recruitment: Hold an information session for 1Ls to provide information about each journal and the write-on process. Food is usually provided.

Grade write-on submissions and send notifications to new staff members.

Issue 1 Offers: Continue making publication offers to authors through June 30.

Issue 1 Manuscript Editing: Edit for substance, grammar, and style. EIC/MgE read edited versions, discuss proposed changes with authors and get their approval. Deadline Aug 31.

Transfer email responsibility, new editors become responsible for answering emails from previous volume’s authors.

Issue 2: Assess abstracts by June 30 and notify authors that the manuscript due date is October 15.

Issue 1 source and cite: gather documents, place ILL requests, generate assignments, divide footnotes among staff, archive source documents. Deadline Oct 15.

Issue 2 article selection: Read and assess submitted manuscripts.

Issue 2 offers: Make publication offers to authors, authors accept/decline, publication agreements signed by author & Library Director or designee, final drafts submitted by author. Deadline: Oct 31.

Issue 1 final review: Final approval from authors, format article, create PDF, final editorial review and approval of front matter and articles. Deadline: Winter Break.

Issue 1 final review continues. Deadline: Winter Break.

Issue 2 manuscript editing continues. Deadline Jan 31.

Issue 2 source and cite: Gather documents, place, ILL requests, generate assignments, divide footnotes among staff, archive source documents. Deadline Feb 28.

Issue 2: Student notes/book reviews selected.

Continue training the incoming board.

Issue 2 final review: Final approval from authors, format articles, create PDFs of articles; final editorial review and approval of front matter and articles. Deadline: May 31.

Wrap up loose ends and make sure the new board has all of the email addresses, passwords, and contact information they need.

You will retain computer network and Library after-hours access for three months after graduation.