Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Adjunct Faculty Handbook: General Information

Welcome!

Welcome to UNM School of Law! As a new faculty member there's a lot to get your head around. Fortunately, we're here to help. You will find a link to the full Adjunct Faculty Handbook below, but this guide offers quick links and an easily browseable format to get you the information you need.

Frequent Contacts

Sergio Pareja, Dean: 277-4700 pareja@law.unm.edu

Camille Carey, Vice Dean & Associate Dean for Academic Affairs: 277-0078 carey@law.unm.edu

Ernest Tafoya, Registrar: 277-3649 tafoya@law.unm.edu

lsregistrar@law.unm.edu (Dept. Preferred): 277-2059 lawregistrar@unm.edu

Ramona Garcia, Operations Manager: 277-8649 garcia@law.unm.edu

Cheryl Burbank, Faculty Support Supervisor: 277-0609 burbank@law.unm.edu

Beverly Akin, Assistant to the Deans: 277-4700 akin@law.unm.edu

Emilie Mc-Vay Ash, Law School Front Office Receptionist: 277-2146 receptionist@law.unm.edu emiliemcv@law.unm.ed

Building Hours

Building Hours (277-2146)

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 8pm

Friday: 8am - 6pm

Saturday -Sunday: Closed

Building Closures

Labor Day

Thanksgiving

Winter Break

Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Memorial Day

Information About Library Support to Faculty and Staff

Library services are readily requested via the Faculty Request Portal, linked at the bottom of this box. 

Services you may request from the library include (but are not limited to):

  • Research assistance
  • Book or article delivery (ILL)
  • Circulation, including checking out and returning books
  • Database assistance and training (choose 'Instruction')
  • Research Assistant training (choose 'Instruction')
  • Scholarly Publishing and Promotion
  • e-Resources support, including password assistance.

Please watch this short video on searching the UNM WorldCat catalog to access Law Library books as well as books from other University libraries:

Please note that at this time, our ability to access book from other libraries using ILL is limited. This may mean that we cannot get a book for your from another library at all, or that it may take a much longer time than usual to get a book from outside libraries. 

Please visit our Research Guide on finding journal articles (linked at the bottom of this box) for more information and instructions on finding journal articles at the UNM Law Library.  It includes sources for finding full-text articles, and non full-text articles.

Just a few of the sources of articles that we have available to UNMSOL Faculty and Staff are:

  • The HeinOnline Law Journal Library
  • LexisNexis
  • Westlaw
  • Oxford Academic Journals

These databases and more are hyperlinked in the Library Guide on Finding Journal Articles, below. 

The Library’s course reserve service will not be available during the Fall 2020 semester. Per the American Library Association’s guidance (linked at the bottom of this box) on handling library materials and collections during a pandemic, any book that circulates will be placed in 72-hour quarantine after it is returned to the Library. This means that the cycle for a 2-hour course reserve would actually be 74 hours. 

As you plan your Fall semester courses, please work with the Copy Center so that materials that would have gone on the reserve shelf can be digitized. 

To access the Law School Intranet directly, click on the link at the bottom of this box. 

To access the intranet via the Law School or Law Library homepage:

  • Go to the drop-down menu upper-right hand side of Law School/Law Library page, click on Intranet, and login with your Law School ID and your password.
  • After logging on, click on the various tabs.

The UNMSOL intranet contains crucial information necessary to support your needs as a new faculty, adjunct, or visiting faculty member – from maps and links to classroom location, hardware and layout, to accessing faculty handbooks including the adjunct faculty handbook, to a spectrum of useful faculty support resources. 

Additional Contacts

Academic Affairs

Camille Carey, Vice Dean & Associate Dean for Academic Affairs: 277-0078 carey@law.unm.edu

Ernest Tafoya, Registrar: 277-3649 tafoya@law.unm.edu

(Direct) lsregistrar@law.unm.edu (Department Preferred): 277-2059 lawregistrar@unm.edu

Administration Questions

Ramona Garcia, Operations Manager: 277-8649 garcia@law.unm.edu

Faculty Support Questions

Cheryl Burbank, Faculty Support Supervisor: 277-0609 burbank@law.unm.edu

Facilities

Tony Anderson, Law Facilities/Media Services Manager: 277-6204 anderson@law.unm.edu

Greg Garcia, Facilities Coordinator: 277-0196 garciag@law.unm.edu

Academic Technology Services (Media Services)

Tony Anderson and Danny Cisneros: 277-6204 mediaservices@law.unm.ed

IT Support

The best way to contact the law school's IT department is via email to lawithelp@unm.edu.  IT can aslo be reached at 277-8656 during regular business hours.

Copy Services

Questions about reproduction of course materials including syllabi and course handouts and supplements are handled by the Copy Center.

Copy Center Support can be reached by email copy@law.unm.edu or by phone 277-4852

Student Services

Question about student support and issues such as academic support, student wellness, reference requests, and job placement.

Bonnie Stapleton, Director of Office of Student & Career Services

stepleton@law.unm.edu or 277-1188

Beth Kaimowitz, Director of Academic Success

kaimowitz@law.unm.edu or 277-0886

Academic Calendar

For more information regarding the academic calendar, see:

http://lawschool.unm.edu/academics/calendars/index.html


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.