Search for Statutes at Large, American State Papers, and U.S. Serial Set; Journals of Congress; and Debates of Congress including the Annals of Congress, the Register of Debates, the Congressional Globe, the Congressional Record, and a lot more.
Hosted at Yale Law School. Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. Includes: Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Notes on the debates in the Federal Convention, Federalist Papers, and the Ratification Resolutions of the States
University of Nebraska-Lincoln has digitized a collection of Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations, which supplements the treaties found in Kappler’s Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties.
Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, and presented by the Oklahoma State University Library, this compilation contains laws concerning Indian affairs up to 1971, treaties from 1778-1883, executive orders, and proclamations. Contains indexes and tables of contents. Accessible in text or printed page format. http://digital.library.okstate.edu/Kappler/
Digital versions now also available via GPO's govinfo: https://tinyurl.com/ycx55c9x
This lesson will teach you how to locate treaties between Indian tribes and the United States government. It will also show you how to determine whether a particular treaty provision is still in effect and how to interpret ambiguous treaty provisions. (Lesson completion time 30 minutes)
Describes sources for research into treaties between the U.S. government and Indian tribes, focusing on primary sources, including treaties, and legislative history materials. The sources are preceded by an overview of the treaty process and the termination of the government's power to enter into treaties with Indian nations.
Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Hosted by U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO). To Read "Law and Order on Indian Reservations" navigate to and open Chapter 1: Bureau of Indian Affairs, Department of the Interior; Subchapter B - Law and Order , Part 11.
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis.
The "American Indian Reservations and Indian Trust Areas" is a compendium of information about the economic infrastructure of these areas. The material is arranged geographically, and is presented in small files based on location.
Hosted at Yale Law School. Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. Includes: Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Notes on the debates in the Federal Convention, Federalist Papers, and the Ratification Resolutions of the States
A comprehensive index to all the claims and decisions of the ICC through 1973. Two indexes and a Table of Cases assist the user in finding relevant materials. Cases that originated with the ICC and moved to the Court of Claims when the ICC ceased to exist are traced.
Researchers may wish to consult Executive Orders Disposition Tables, beginning with January 8, 1937 to August 29, 2006, including title, signature date, Federal Register citation, and detailed history of amendments and revocations. For example, under the Clinton Administration, out of 364 Executive Orders executed, five pertained to Native Americans and they are indexed under that heading (Native Americans).
The Office of the Federal Register presents this online version of the Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders, April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989. The paper version of this publication is out of print. The Codification provides in one convenient reference source Proclamations and Executive Orders with general applicability and continuing effect. It covers April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989, spanning the administrations of Harry S. Truman through Ronald Reagan.
