Research Guides: Criminal Law in Indian Country Research Guide : Publications, Collections, and Reports

Special Reports

American Indians on Reservations: A Databook of Socioeconomic Change Between the 1990 and 2000 Censuses
Published January 2005 by Jonathan B. Taylor and Joseph P. Kalt. This study compiles 1990 and 2000 U.S. Census data on Native Americans residing on reservations and in designated Indian statistical areas in the lower 48 U.S. States. Gaming and non- gaming areas are compared to each other and to the U.S. as a whole. Data on fifteen measures ranging from income and poverty to employment and housing conditions indicate that, although substantial gaps remain between America’s Native population and the rest of the U.S., rapid economic development is taking place among gaming and non-gaming tribes alike.
A Bill to Amend the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act
A bill to include provisions relating to the payment and administration of gaming fees, and for other purposes: report together with minority views (to accompany S. 1529).
Implementation of the Texas Restoration Act
Hearing before the Committee on Indian Affairs, United State Senate, One Hundred Seventh Congress, second session on oversight hearing on implemtation of the Texas Restoration Act, June 18, 2002, Washington, D.C.
The Problem of Indian Administration [The Meriam Report] (1928)
The report combined narrative with statistics to criticize the Department of Interior's (DOI) implementation of the Dawes Act, and overall conditions on reservations and in Indian boarding schools. The Meriam Report was the first general study of Indian conditions since the 1850s, when the ethnologist and former U.S. Indian Agent Henry R. Schoolcraft had completed a six-volume work for the U.S. Congress. The Meriam Report provided much of the data used to reform American Indian policy through new legislation: the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934. It strongly influenced succeeding policies in land allotment, education, and health care. The report found generally that the U.S. federal government was failing at its goals of protecting Native Americans, their land, and their resources, both personal and cultural. (Wiki)
United States Serial Set Number 4015 (Indian Land Cessions in the United States, 1784-1894)
Indian Land Cessions in the United States U.S. Serial Set Number 4015 contains the second part of the two-part Eighteenth Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, 1896-97 by J.W. Powell, Director. Part two of the Report features sixty-seven maps and two tables compiled by Charles C. Royce, with an introductory essay by Cyrus Thomas.
more...less...
The tables are entitled: Schedule of Treaties and Acts of Congress Authorizing Allotments of Lands in Severalty Schedule of Indian Land Cessions The Schedule of Indian Land Cessions subtitle notes that it "indicates the number and location of each cession by or reservation for the Indian tribes from the organization of the Federal Government to and including 1894, together with descriptions of the tracts so ceded or reserved, the date of the treaty, law or executive order governing the same, the name of the tribe or tribes affected thereby, and historical data and references bearing thereon." The Schedule of Indian Land Cessions comprises 709 entries with links to the related map or maps for each entry. The tables and essays are available in both searchable text and page images, and the maps are available in images. Due to the complexity of information presented in each entry, it is strongly recommended that users print out both pages of a table entry for comparison with the related map.

A Profile of the Indian Gaming Industry (PDF)
A Report to the Chairman of the Committee on Ways and Means, House of Representatives, May 1997.
Social & Economic Consequences of Indian Gaming in Oklahoma (PDF)
By Kenneth W. Grant II, Katherine A. Spilde, Jonathan B. Taylor. Joint Occasional Papers on Native Affairs / No. 2003-04.
Telecommunications: Challenges to Assessing and Improving Telecommunications For Native Americans on Tribal Lands (PDF)
An important goal of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended, is to ensure access to telecommunications services for all Americans. The Federal Communications Commission has made efforts to improve the historically low subscribership rates of Native Americans on tribal lands. In addition, Congress is considering legislation to establish a grant program to help tribes improve telecommunications services on their lands. This report discusses 1) the status of telecommunications subscribership for Native Americans living on tribal lands; 2) federal programs available for improving telecommunications on these lands; 3) barriers to improvements; and 4) how some tribes are addressing these barriers.
We the People: American Indians and Alaska Natives in the United States (PDF)
February 2006 United States Census 2000 special report about American Indian and Alaska native groups. Features data about size of population, age, household types, languages spoken, educational attainment, labor force participation, occupations, earnings, poverty rate, home ownership, and living on tribal lands for the following tribal groupings: Apache, Cherokee, Chippewa, Choctaw, Creek, Iroquois, Lumbee, Navaho, Pueblo, Sioux, Alaskan Athabascan, Aleut, Eskimo, and Tlingit-Haida. Opens directly into a PDF document. From the U.S. Census Bureau.

Native America: A Primary Record: Series 3 by Association on American Indian Affairs Filmed from the holdings of the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, Princeton University. Publications, Programs, and Legal and Organizational Files (1851-1983) from the Association on American Indian Affairs Archives.

Document PDFs

A Profile of the Indian Gaming Industry (PDF)
A Report to the Chairman of the Committee on Ways and Means, House of Representatives, May 1997.
Telecommunications: Challenges to Assessing and Improving Telecommunications For Native Americans on Tribal Lands (PDF)
An important goal of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended, is to ensure access to telecommunications services for all Americans. The Federal Communications Commission has made efforts to improve the historically low subscribership rates of Native Americans on tribal lands. In addition, Congress is considering legislation to establish a grant program to help tribes improve telecommunications services on their lands. This report discusses 1) the status of telecommunications subscribership for Native Americans living on tribal lands; 2) federal programs available for improving telecommunications on these lands; 3) barriers to improvements; and 4) how some tribes are addressing these barriers.
Social & Economic Consequences of Indian Gaming in Oklahoma (PDF)
By Kenneth W. Grant II, Katherine A. Spilde, Jonathan B. Taylor. Joint Occasional Papers on Native Affairs / No. 2003-04.
We the People: American Indians and Alaska Natives in the United States (PDF)
February 2006 United States Census 2000 special report about American Indian and Alaska native groups. Features data about size of population, age, household types, languages spoken, educational attainment, labor force participation, occupations, earnings, poverty rate, home ownership, and living on tribal lands for the following tribal groupings: Apache, Cherokee, Chippewa, Choctaw, Creek, Iroquois, Lumbee, Navaho, Pueblo, Sioux, Alaskan Athabascan, Aleut, Eskimo, and Tlingit-Haida. Opens directly into a PDF document. From the U.S. Census Bureau.

Publications & Legal Journals (A-M)

American Indian Law Review
The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for analysis of developments in legal issues pertaining to Native Americans and indigenous peoples worldwide. Adhering to the traditional law review format, the Review offers in-depth articles by legal scholars, attorneys and other expert observers. In addition, the Review offers comments and notes written by student members and editors on a wide variety of Indian law-related topics.
Association on American Indian Affairs Records (1851 - 2013)
Archives of the Association on American Indian Affairs document the corporate life of an influential and resilient player in the history of twentieth-century Native American advocacy. From its formation by non-Indians in New York in 1922 to its re-establishment in South Dakota in 1995 under a wholly Indian administration, the AAIA has defended the rights and promoted the welfare of Native Americans and, in this process, has shaped the views of their fellow citizens.
Elkus Papers (Charles de Young and Ruth)
The California Academy of Sciences houses a collection of over 3,300 documents related to Indian affairs over the period 1922-1963. These papers came from the estate of Charles de Young Elkus, a San Francisco attorney whose sense of fairness manifested itself in his opinions and in the positive influence he exerted through his interest in the struggles of Native Americans of the Southwest. This interest spanned a wide range, from politics to social problems to art. These papers came from the estate of Charles de Young Elkus, a San Francisco attorney.
Indian Country Today
The most comprehensive newspaper for information and events affecting Native Americans. Published by Four Directions Media, Inc., owned by the Oneida Nation of New York.
Indian Law News Bulletins
Indian Law News Bulletins are a current awareness service of the National Indian Law Library. The purpose of the Indian Law Bulletins is to provide succinct and timely information about new developments in Indian Law.
Institute for American Indian Research
The Institute for Indigenous Research (IFAIR) brings together faculty members from across disciplines to center Native American Studies as theory and praxis in all areas of scholarship. We facilitate research by providing active support for faculty and graduate research, highlighting Indigenous studies initiatives across campus, and providing a forum for interdisciplinary conversation between and among Native and non-Native faculty and students committed to such issues.

Publications, Collections, & Legal Journals (N-Z)

Native American Press/Ojibwe News
The policy of the Native American Press/Ojibwe News (Press/ON) is to print the news accurately, to provide a forum for the voices of the people, and to encourage Indian people to empower ourselves by exposing corruption and demanding accountability from our governments. Press/ON is published in St. Paul, Minnesota.
Native American Times
An independently-owned newspaper published in print and electronic format, providing news geared toward the Native American perspective.
NativeWeb: News Digest
Native Law News Digest provides a good list of links (updated daily) to news items from all over Indian Country, including Canada.
Tribal Law Journal
The Tribal Law Journal was established in fall 1998 for the purpose of promoting indigenous self-determination by facilitating discussion of the internal law of the world's indigenous nations. The internal law of indigenous nations encompasses traditional law, western law adopted by indigenous nations, and a blend of western and indigenous law. Underscoring this purpose is the recognition that traditional law is a source of law. Since the Tribal Law Journal's inception, the Tribal Law Journal has become the premier indigenous law journal in the United States and is one of the few international legal journal sources dedicated to indigenous and tribal law.
World Cultures (eHRAF)
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Video: Searching eHRAF
In this video, you will learn how to conduct an advanced search in eHRAF World Cultures, including filtering and understanding search results. This tutorial utilizes the example of a research question on how infants and children contribute to or participate in the collection and gathering of roots for subsistence across societies in the African continent.
Wotanging Ikche
Wotanging Ikche (Native American News) This site contains find links to latest copy of Wotanging Ikche, along with links to a complete archive of all back issues. We dedicate this Page to Gary Night Owl for his efforts to keep the brothers and sisters who share our Spirit informed about current events within the lives of those who walk the Red Road.