Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing Resources in this Guide:
This research guide contains links to a wide variety of information sources, some of which can be accessed by all researchers, free of charge. However, access rights will vary. Please see the icon located after each resource description for more information.
If you are unable to access a resource due to these limitations, ask your local library about access options.
What's in this Guide
This guide is a starting point for research in legislative history and government documents at the UNM Law Library. It includes both primary and secondary materials, in both print and electronic formats. If you have any questions, please contact the Law Library’s reference desk at (505) 277-0935 or at firstname.lastname@example.org
Scroll down to access General Reference Materials.
General Reference Materials
Guide to Law Online
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations
This guide lists acronyms and abbreviations commonly used by the United States federal government. Each acronym is defined and links to the home page (or best alternative) of the identified department, agency, office, program or publication.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more. Free to New Mexico residents only.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Covers such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide. Free to New Mexico residents only.
Black's Law Dictionary [Westlaw] This link opens in a new window
For more than a century, Black's Law Dictionary has been the gold standard for the language of law.
American Law Sources Online
American Law Sources Online provides comprehensive, uniform, and useful compilation of links to freely accessible online sources of law for the United States, Canada, and Mexico. This site contains additional links to sources of commentary and practice aids that are available without charge or available at a reasonable charge from governmental and nonprofit providers.