Research Guides: Journals Source, Cite, and Write-On Guide: Write-On Competition

Lecture Materials: Preparing for the Write-On Competition

Lecture recording: Preparing for the Write-On
In this presentation, UNMSOL Law Library faculty Prof. Alexandra Siek provides information to assist you in the "source and cite" portion of the Journals Write-On Competition, including: an introduction to the Bluebook; various tools to find the Bluebook rules; basic info on how to locate and cite administrative materials as well as cases and statutes; and how to locate law review and journal articles.

PPT file to accompany screencast presentation
PPT file to accompany the screencast lecture. Make sure to watch the lecture, the PowerPoint is a shell of the information covered.

Finding & Checking Sources

Use HeinOnline to find PDFs of the below:

Journal Articles
US Congressional Documents
US Code
US Supreme Court Library
Federal Register
World Constitutions
Code of Federal Regulations
Federal Register
Statutes & Regulations
Treaties (and visit Our Research Guide)

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to an extensive collection of modern and historical (1776 to present) legal periodicals and monographs including documents on international and foreign jurisdiction, U.S. treaties, U.S Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General, and more. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.

Below is a list of materials you may be looking for paired with the best chance database for finding the material. Following this list are direct links to the databases, each of which have their own access rules. For questions please stop by or email the Reference Desk.

Books > Library Catalog
Cases > Westlaw
Congressional Materials > ProQuest
Court Records > Bloomberg
Newspapers > University Libraries Online
Scholarly Articles > Hein Online, Journal Storage (Jstor), or Google Scholar
US Code and Statutes > Hein Online

UNM Law Library Guide to Finding Articles
This guide is a starting point for finding journal articles at the UNM Law Library. It includes sources for finding full-text articles, and Non Full-text Articles. Finding articles without their full-text is a great method to use when needing to quickly review an article quickly for how in depth they discuss a topic, case, concept, person, and/or event.
Law Library Search
Search the Law Library catalog.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to an extensive collection of modern and historical (1776 to present) legal periodicals and monographs including documents on international and foreign jurisdiction, U.S. treaties, U.S Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General, and more. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
Journal Storage (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal articles; coverage begins with the inception of publication. The Arts & Sciences Collection IV includes law, psychology, and public policy and administration, business & education titles. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials. The collection currently includes 623 periodicals, dating back to 1665. Recent issues (1 to 5 years) of periodicals are not available.
Off-campus or LoboWiFi access with UNM NetID and password.
ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Proxy access for UNM students/staff/faculty (NetID and password).
Electronic access to CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress 1833 forward; Serial Set, Congressional Record, and Statutes at large 1789 forward; Congressional hearing abstracts and indexing 1824 forward; CRS reports 1916 forward; Treaties with Indian Tribes, 1778-1874; Treaties with Foreign Nations, 1776-1949; and more.
Westlaw for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. UNM law faculty, staff, and students--please speak with a Librarian if you need password assistance.

Bluebook: Blue Tips
The editors provide authoritative guidance to reasonable questions on subjects covered by The Bluebook. The most useful answers are gathered here as Blue Tips, classified by subject. These tips are searchable and linked to the Bluebook content they address.

Using the Bluebook for the first time?

Remember these tips:

Use the Index—it will save you time!
Case citations are similar to ALWD, rules for other sources may vary.
Bluebook's front and back cover have quick reference examples.
Use the rules contained in the white pages and the blue-page tables, not the rules from the blue pages at the beginning.

Note: If you are using this page in the process of completing your Write-On competition, please remember to reference and abide by the rules and regulations of the competition.

UNM Law Library Guide to Finding Articles
This guide is a starting point for finding journal articles at the UNM Law Library. It includes sources for finding full-text articles, and Non Full-text Articles. Finding articles without their full-text is a great method to use when needing to quickly review an article quickly for how in depth they discuss a topic, case, concept, person, and/or event.
Dorraine Zief Law Library Finding Articles
Tools, tips, and techniques for finding articles about law and related subjects.
Dorraine Zief Law Library Source Collection Guide
This research guide is designed for staff and board members of journals at the University of San Francisco School of Law and is intended to help them find reliable digital versions (ideally in PDF format) of documents frequently cited in law review and law journal articles.
Thurgood Marshall Law Library Law Journal Resource Guide
Basic information for students serving on the editorial board of a law review, including how to request books and finding PDFs of articles.

The Bluebook by Columbia Law Review

Plagiarism detection software includes Turnitin, Academic Plagiarism, SafeAssign, and iThenticate.

Often, the plagarism detection software that legal research databases provide do not check submissions against much (if any) law-related content. It has been reported that plagiarism detection software doesn’t work very well for law schools and that it can be more effective to run manual searches against Lexis/Westlaw/Hein/SSRN/etc.

Please also see the Texas Tech page on plagiarism!

TWEN Assistance

For assistance with TWEN, see the TWEN Resource Page or directly contact the school’s Westlaw representative.

Legal Research Guides

Journals Source, Cite, and Write-On Guide: Write-On Competition

Lecture Materials: Preparing for the Write-On Competition

Finding & Checking Sources

Using the Bluebook for the first time?

TWEN Assistance

Contact Us

Address