It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Associations Research Guide: Topical Treatises: Print & Electronic
When researching an unfamiliar area of law, it is best to start your research with a secondary source such as a specialized legal treatise. In additional to introducing the researcher to the terminology and legal concepts of a specific area of law, secondary sources save the researcher time by pointing out and discussing the important cases, statutes and regulations that shape and govern that area of law.
Best search phrases to use in the UNM Law Library Catalog:
Browsing the UNM Law Library's Upper Floor Law Reference/Treatises collection is another good strategy. Browse the call number range KF 1384 thru KF 1477 for corporate and business organizations titles.
Multiple useful treatises are highlighted in this guide to speed your research.
Business Organizations with Tax Planning is a treatise that covers the formation and operation of the various types of business entities. The emphasis is on partnerships and especially corporations, but all other entities are also examined.
This treatise addresses the major policies embodied in legislation, case law, state and federal regulations, stock market listing requirements, and best practices guidelines concerning the rights of shareholders and the obligations of the managers and directors who run and oversee companies on their behalf.
This treatise is structured to parallel the format of the Delaware General Corporation Law and analyzes the statute section by section. It also presents expert analysis of case law interpreting the statute.
A treatise detailing the various aspects of setting up small business enterprises. Among the business entities discussed are individual proprietorships, general and limited partnerships, closely held corporations, not-for-profit corporations, and limited liability companies. Tax, financing, and management considerations are reviewed.
This treatise provides guidance on forming, operating, and changing ownership of a professional corporation or association. Topics covered: the pitfalls; taxation and accounting; opportunities in pension plans and other fringe benefits; and state professional corporation laws and ethical rules.
This treatise explains why the LLC and LLP are taking the place of Subchapter S and Subchapter C for all but very large, publicly held companies. Beginning with "What a Nontax Lawyer Needs to Know" about partnership tax rules, it provides step-by-step explanations of how to create an LLC or LLP.
This text takes you step by step through all aspects of establishing and operating organizations incorporated in Delaware. Comprehensive in scope and authoritative in content, this resource provides discussion of legal precedents, the statutory framework, and practical strategies. Useful for any legal practitioner.
Text of the treatise Delaware Law of Corporations and Business Organizations, Third Edition, by R. Franklin Balotti and Jesse A. Finkelstein. Coverage is current through the Third Edition, 2020-1 Supplement, as published by Wolters Kluwer Law & Business.
Contains forms, checklists, and commentary for drafting customized documents related to closely held corporations. Coverage includes organizing a closely held corporation beginning with preliminary considerations, and going on to pre-incorporation agreements, bylaws, minutes and resolutions, shareholder and voting trust agreements, buy-sell agreements, employment agreements, sale or liquidation of corporation, S corporations, and professional corporations. Appendix includes statutory provisions for closely held corporations.
This treatise includes state-by-state coverage of limited liability companies (LLCs); forms for LLC articles and operating agreements; and a discussion of the tax status of LLCs, including a complete summary and analysis of the IRS "check-the-box" rules and the text of relevant IRS revenue and private letter rulings.
This treatise offers complete guidance on the process of organizing an LLC, state requirements, and client needs. In each topical area of LLC law, the treatise provides comparisons with other business entities (particularly limited and general partnerships and corporations) and full discussion of all tax issues related to LLCs. This title includes analysis of fiduciary duties, aspects of securities and bankruptcy laws as they impact LLCs, and procedures for setting up a foreign LLC. It also includes sample operating agreements.
This treatise is the successor to the classic work Ballantine on Corporations. It features content on corporations and covers all areas of corporate law, as well as the origins of various doctrines and their contemporary manifestations in current statutes and caselaw.