Research Guides: Federal and Tribal Legislation: Federal Law and Documents

Federal Constitution, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations

Federal Resources

U.S. Constitution

United States Constitution
Hosted by Library of Congress' Primary Documents in American History

Federal Register

Federal Register [GovInfo FDsys]
Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Code of Federal Regulations

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 25 Indians
Hosted by U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO). To Read "Law and Order on Indian Reservations" navigate to and open Chapter 1: Bureau of Indian Affairs, Department of the Interior; Subchapter B - Law and Order , Part 11.
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 26
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition) [GovInfo FDsys]
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis.
Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules for the Code of Federal Regulations and the United States Code
The Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules lists rulemaking authority (except 5 U.S.C. 301) for regulations codified in the Code of Federal Regulations. Also included are statutory citations which are noted as being interpreted or applied by those regulations.

Westlaw, Lexis Advance, and/or Bloomberg Law contain the annotated U.S. Constitution; as well as current and some historical Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations content.

Federal Case Law

American Memory Project
Search for Statutes at Large, American State Papers, and U.S. Serial Set; Journals of Congress; and Debates of Congress including the Annals of Congress, the Register of Debates, the Congressional Globe, the Congressional Record, and a lot more.
more...less...
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/updatedList.html
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
VersusLaw
Tribal court decisions, federal and state appellate case law opinions, selected state source materials, federal specialty practice courts, current versions of the U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations, and a citator. UNM law faculty, staff, and students can register for a free password for remote access.
Congressional Publications
Online access to CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress from 1833 forward; Serial Set from 1789 forward; Congressional hearing abstracts and indexing from 1824 forward; Congressional Record and predecessor titles from 1789 forward; CRS reports from 1916 forward; Statutes at Large from 1789 forward; Treaties with Indian Tribes, 1778-1874; Treaties with Foreign Nations, 1776-1949; and much, much more.
Cases and Codes [FindLaw]
FindLaw's Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. This includes resources pertaining to constitutions, statutes, cases and more. Run a search for case summaries or select a jurisdiction to browse applicable laws. - See more at: http://caselaw.findlaw.com/#federal
Interior Board of Indian Appeals Decisions
This site contains decisions issued by the Interior Board of Indian Appeals (IBIA) from its inception in 1970 through April 13, 2005. This is an unofficial site and is not associated in any way with the Department of the Interior. The site is offered as a public service and will remain on-line until the official website of the Interior Board of Indian Appeals returns.
Seminal Supreme Court Cases Regarding Federal Indian Law
Seminal Supreme Court Cases regarding Federal Indian Law. Included are links to the text of many of the Supreme Court decisions that have shaped and influenced Indian Law. These cases are listed in chronological order.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse
Presents summaries and full-text versions of Indian law opinions from the court from 1991 to 2004. Provides access to current opinions from federal circuit courts.

Westlaw, Lexis and/or Bloomberg provide access to federal case law that can be researched using provider-specific tools such as headnotes and West American Digest system topic and key numbers, in addition to keyword and boolean searching.

Treaties

American Memory Project
Search for Statutes at Large, American State Papers, and U.S. Serial Set; Journals of Congress; and Debates of Congress including the Annals of Congress, the Register of Debates, the Congressional Globe, the Congressional Record, and a lot more.
more...less...
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/updatedList.html
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
American Memory Project: Documents from the Continental Congress
Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774 to 1789.
The Avalon Project: The American Constitution
Hosted at Yale Law School. Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. Includes: Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Notes on the debates in the Federal Convention, Federalist Papers, and the Ratification Resolutions of the States
Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations
University of Nebraska-Lincoln has digitized a collection of Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations, which supplements the treaties found in Kappler’s Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (Charles J. Kappler)
Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, and presented by the Oklahoma State University Library, this compilation contains laws concerning Indian affairs up to 1971, treaties from 1778-1883, executive orders, and proclamations. Contains indexes and tables of contents. Accessible in text or printed page format. http://digital.library.okstate.edu/Kappler/
Digital versions now also available via GPO's govinfo: https://tinyurl.com/ycx55c9x

Federal Documents

American Indian Reservations and Trust Areas
The "American Indian Reservations and Indian Trust Areas" is a compendium of information about the economic infrastructure of these areas. The material is arranged geographically, and is presented in small files based on location.
The Avalon Project: The American Constitution
Hosted at Yale Law School. Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. Includes: Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Notes on the debates in the Federal Convention, Federalist Papers, and the Ratification Resolutions of the States
Handbook of Federal Indian Law, Felix S. Cohen
The Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project presents this authoritative work online.
Indian Claims Commission Decisions, 1946-1973
A comprehensive index to all the claims and decisions of the ICC through 1973. Two indexes and a Table of Cases assist the user in finding relevant materials. Cases that originated with the ICC and moved to the Court of Claims when the ICC ceased to exist are traced.
Presidential Executive Orders
Researchers may wish to consult Executive Orders Disposition Tables, beginning with January 8, 1937 to August 29, 2006, including title, signature date, Federal Register citation, and detailed history of amendments and revocations. For example, under the Clinton Administration, out of 364 Executive Orders executed, five pertained to Native Americans and they are indexed under that heading (Native Americans).
Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders, Codified
The Office of the Federal Register presents this online version of the Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders, April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989. The paper version of this publication is out of print. The Codification provides in one convenient reference source Proclamations and Executive Orders with general applicability and continuing effect. It covers April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989, spanning the administrations of Harry S. Truman through Ronald Reagan.
United States Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
Complete transcripts of Hearings available, as well as information on Legislation, nominations, and recent news.

Federal Statutes

Federal Statutes & Code

Statutes at Large [American Memory Project]
The United States Statutes at Large, commonly referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress. Every law, public and private, ever enacted by the Congress is published in the Statutes at Large in order of the date of its passage. Until 1948, all treaties and international agreements approved by the Senate were also published in the set. In addition, the Statutes at Large includes the text of the Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, the Constitution, amendments to the Constitution, treaties with Indians and foreign nations, and presidential proclamations.
FedLaw, Native Americans
A comprehensive popular name approach to federal legal materials pertaining to Indian law.
United States Code [Law Revision Counsel]
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
United States Statutes at Large, 1789-1875
Search the official record of Acts of Congress and concurrent resolutions passed by the U.S. Congress. The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Warning: unannotated!

United States Code [GovInfo FDsys]
FDsys contains virtual main editions of the U.S. Code. The information contained in the U.S. Code on FDsys has been provided to GPO by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. While every effort has been made to ensure that the U.S. Code on FDsys is accurate, those using it for legal research should verify their results against the printed version of the U.S. Code available through the Government Printing Office.

Warning: unannotated!

United States Code Classification Tables
These tables show where recently enacted laws will appear in the United States Code and which sections of the Code have been amended by those laws. The tables sorted in Public Law order may be used to identify the sections of the Code affected by a particular law. The tables sorted in Code order may be used to determine whether a particular section of the Code has recently been amended. The tables only include those provisions of law that have been classified to the Code.

Westlaw for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. UNM law faculty, staff, and students--please speak with a Librarian if you need password assistance.

Search United States Code Annotated on Westlaw.

LexisNexis for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to Lexis web courses.

Search United States Code Service on Lexis Advance.

Links to Lexis Nexis and Westlaw for Law Schools

LexisNexis for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to Lexis web courses.
Westlaw for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. UNM law faculty, staff, and students--please speak with a Librarian if you need password assistance.

Legal Research Guides

Federal and Tribal Legislation: Federal Law and Documents

Federal Constitution, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations

Federal Resources

U.S. Constitution

Federal Register

Code of Federal Regulations

Federal Case Law

Treaties

Treaties

Federal Documents

Federal Documents

Federal Statutes

Federal Statutes & Code

Links to Lexis Nexis and Westlaw for Law Schools

Contact Us

Address