It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal and Tribal Legislation: Federal Policy Analysis
This guide was prepared to support the research efforts of students in the UNMSOL Federal and Tribal Legislation Course
Electronic resources are not always the best place to begin your research, but electronic resources are an essential part of the research process. In many cases, electronic resources will link you to breaking news on your topic. The Law Library subscribes to many high-quality electronic resources and can provide guidance to locate the best, most authoritative free resources.
When you discover an electronic research resource by searching the World Wide Web, be sure to carefully evaluate it for accuracy and trustworthiness.
Looking for Journal Articles?
Use the UNM Law Library Guide to Finding Journal Articles to locate both abstracts and full-text articles from a variety of sources.
Proxy access for UNM students/staff/faculty (NetID and password).
Electronic access to CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress 1833 forward; Serial Set, Congressional Record, and Statutes at large 1789 forward; Congressional hearing abstracts and indexing 1824 forward; CRS reports 1916 forward; Treaties with Indian Tribes, 1778-1874; Treaties with Foreign Nations, 1776-1949; and more.
CQ Press Researcher Online is the award-winning choice of researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Controversial topics are addressed in a balanced, unbiased manner in the CQ tradition. Access with your UNM NetID and password.
Formerly CQ Weekly, this publication is produced by the largest news team on Capitol Hill and is a source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress. It covers status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Access with your UNM NetID and password.
Proxy access for UNM students (NetID and password).
The PAIS Index contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
With specialized reporting about government affairs and the full range of federal government activity, the National Journal website also includes a searchable Almanac of American Politics as well as information about federal campaign and PAC staffers.
Attn School of Law students and faculty: you may see a security error message when attempting to access this resource remotely. The School's technology setup is secure. Please use your browser's options to navigate past the warning screen.