Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tools for Finding Articles
These indexing tools expand your scope beyond the full-text article databases. If you need assistance locating the full-text of the articles you discover, ask at the Reference Desk.
Tips: To do a comprehensive search of the journal literature on your topic, you must use journal indexes. The full-text journal databases on Lexis and Westlaw do not contain all of the law journals published, and, for those that are included, the starting date of coverage is rarely volume 1.
These journal indexes, in contrast, include virtually all legal journals from volume 1.
Legal Source provides indexing and full-text coverage of well-respected scholarly law journals. It contains approximately 1,100 full-text journals and law reviews. It also provides detailed indexing for additional legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, bar association publication, and university publications. Indexing of periodicals from non-U.S. English-speaking countries is also included. This database encompasses the Index to Legal Periodicals and Books for 1908 forward. It is a useful complement to EBSCO's Academic Search Complete database (available through UNM University Libraries).
Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals. Once at the El Portal page list of resources, scroll down to where the database "LegalTrac" is listed. The American Association of Law Libraries selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
This archival database indexes many legal periodicals published between 1908 and 1981 in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, as well as annual surveys of jurisdictional laws and federal courts, annual institutes, and annual reviews of work on specific topics.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.