Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Agencies (A-H)
Administration for Native Americans (ANA)
ANA works to promote the goals of social and economic self-suffiency for Native Americans. ANA supports Native American communities by providing financial assistance and capacity building, gathering and sharing data, and advocating for improved policies within HHS and across the federal government.
American Indian Environmental Office (AIEO)
AIEO is part of the Environmental Protection Agency. It works to promote public health and environmental protection in Indian country. The AIEO particularly focuses on helping tribes to build and administer environmental programs of their own.
Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA)
The BIA is part of the Department of the Interior. It offers assistance to Indian and Alaska Native peoples to manage their affairs under the trust relationship to the Federal Government.
Bureau of Indian Affairs Federal Acknowledgement Decision Compilation (ADC)
ADC is a record of documents the BIA has on file for dozens of groups that have made it through the federal recognition process. It contains over 600 MB of documents that were scanned in by the agency’s Office of Federal Acknowledgment.
A federal interagency website that provides Native American communities with information from government agencies and other organizations. Features a calendar of events, training information, and American Indian and Alaska Native links.
FirstGov, For Tribal Governments and Native Americans
This page links to federal websites for information on education, jobs, and economic development; family and health; housing; land and the environment; legislative and legal resources; and other resources.
Federal Agencies (I-M)
Indian Arts and Crafts Board (IACB)
IACB is an agency within the Department of the Interior whose purpose is to enhance the economic development of American Indians and Alaska Natives by expanding the Indian arts and crafts market.
Indian Health Service (IHS)
IHS works to ensure the availability of comprehensive and culturally acceptable public health services to American Indian and Alaska Native people.
Indian Land Areas Judicially Established 1978
The source map portrays results of cases before the U.S. Indian Claims Commission or the U.S. Court of Claims in which an American Indian tribe proved its original tribal occupancy of a tract within the continental United States. The map is available from the USGS.
Interior Board of Indian Appeals Decisions
This site contains decisions issued by the Interior Board of Indian Appeals (IBIA) from its inception in 1970 through April 13, 2005. This is an unofficial site and is not associated in any way with the Department of the Interior. The site is offered as a public service and will remain on-line until the official website of the Interior Board of Indian Appeals returns.
Law Library of Congress, Indigenous Law Portal
Includes a list of texts, commentary, agencies and organizations, and general links to information concerning Native Americans and the law.
Interior Board of Indian Appeals Case Law on Land Acquisition
This website now includes decisions issued by the Interior Board of Land Appeals (IBLA), beginning with IBLA Volume 125. These decisions are in PDF format and are exactly as furnished to me by the Department of the Interior, except that I have added brief title pages, for the purpose of improving searchability of the decisions.
Federal Agencies (N-Z)
Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA)
NAGPRA is a federal law passed in 1990. The Act provides a process for museums and Federal agencies to return certain Native American cultural items - human remains, funerary objects, sacred objects, and objects of cultural patrimony - to lineal descendants, culturally affiliated Indian tribes, and Native Hawaiian organizations. This site contains the law and various resources that relate to NAGPRA.
National Indian Gaming Commission (NIGC)
NIGC official website. NIGC is a federal government agency. The Commission’s primary mission is to work within the framework created by the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act (IGRA) for the regulation of gaming activities conducted by tribes on Indian lands to fully realize IGRA’s goals: (1) promoting tribal economic development, self-sufficiency and strong tribal governments; (2) maintaining the integrity of the Indian gaming industry; and (3) ensuring that tribes are the primary beneficiaries of their gaming activities.
National Archives and Records Administration
National Archives and Records Administration: This site of the National Archives and Records Administration provides access to records of the Indian Arts and Crafts Board.
MedlinePlus: American Indian and Alaska Native Health
An information portal on issues affecting the health and well-being of American Indians/Alaska Natives. MedlinePlus links to health information from the National Institutes of Health and other federal government agencies.
National Museum of American Indian
The National Museum of the American Indian (Smithsonian Institution) is the sixteenth museum of the Smithsonian Institution. It is the first national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans. Established by an act of Congress in 1989, the museum works in collaboration with the Native peoples of the Western Hemisphere to protect and foster their cultures by reaffirming traditions and beliefs, encouraging contemporary artistic expression, and empowering the Indian voice.
Office of Indian Education
The Office of Indian Education helps American Indian and Alaska Native students achieve state performance standards. To meet this goal, it supports the efforts of local educational agencies, tribes, and tribal organizations, as well as postsecondary institutions.
Office of Public and Indian Housing (PIH)
The PIH Office works to guarantee safe, decent, and affordable housing. It encourages self-sufficiency and economic independence for residents, and ensures that program participants possess fiscal integrity.
United States Census Bureau - American Indian and Alaska Natives Resources AIAN)
Nice collection of data from the 2000 Census with subheadings that include "Economic Data," "Populations Estimates and Projections," and "Maps," along with links to the 1990 Census, Tribal Government Programs and a List of Federally Recognized Tribes.
United States Department of Justice, Office of Tribal Justice
The Office of Tribal Justice provides a single point of contact within the Justice Department to meet the federal responsibilities owed to Indian tribes.