Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Treaties related to International Indigenous Issues
American Memory Project
Search for Statutes at Large, American State Papers, and U.S. Serial Set; Journals of Congress; and Debates of Congress including the Annals of Congress, the Register of Debates, the Congressional Globe, the Congressional Record, and a lot more.
American Memory Project: Documents from the Continental Congress
Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774 to 1789.
The Avalon Project: The American Constitution
Hosted at Yale Law School. Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. Includes: Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Notes on the debates in the Federal Convention, Federalist Papers, and the Ratification Resolutions of the States
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (Charles J. Kappler)
Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, and presented by the Oklahoma State University Library, this compilation contains laws concerning Indian affairs up to 1971, treaties from 1778-1883, executive orders, and proclamations. Contains indexes and tables of contents. Accessible in text or printed page format. http://digital.library.okstate.edu/Kappler/
Digital versions now also available via GPO's govinfo: https://tinyurl.com/ycx55c9x
Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations
University of Nebraska-Lincoln has digitized a collection of Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations, which supplements the treaties found in Kappler’s Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties.
Indian Treaties, 1789-1869 [National Archives]
National Archives Catalog of Indian Treaties from the years 1789-1869. Contains handwritten treaties along with attested Senate manuscript copies of Presidential ratifications and confirmation of the treaties.
Treaties Explorer, The Indigenous Digital Archive
Explorer tool for 374 ratified Indian treaties with visualization tools, historic context, and search by zip code.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.