Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publications & Legal Journals (A-M)
American Indian Law Review
The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for analysis of developments in legal issues pertaining to Native Americans and indigenous peoples worldwide. Adhering to the traditional law review format, the Review offers in-depth articles by legal scholars, attorneys and other expert observers. In addition, the Review offers comments and notes written by student members and editors on a wide variety of Indian law-related topics.
Association on American Indian Affairs Records (1851 - 2013)
Archives of the Association on American Indian Affairs document the corporate life of an influential and resilient player in the history of twentieth-century Native American advocacy. From its formation by non-Indians in New York in 1922 to its re-establishment in South Dakota in 1995 under a wholly Indian administration, the AAIA has defended the rights and promoted the welfare of Native Americans and, in this process, has shaped the views of their fellow citizens.
Elkus Papers (Charles de Young and Ruth)
The California Academy of Sciences houses a collection of over 3,300 documents related to Indian affairs over the period 1922-1963. These papers came from the estate of Charles de Young Elkus, a San Francisco attorney whose sense of fairness manifested itself in his opinions and in the positive influence he exerted through his interest in the struggles of Native Americans of the Southwest. This interest spanned a wide range, from politics to social problems to art. These papers came from the estate of Charles de Young Elkus, a San Francisco attorney.
Indian Country Today
The most comprehensive newspaper for information and events affecting Native Americans. Published by Four Directions Media, Inc., owned by the Oneida Nation of New York.
Indian Law News Bulletins
Indian Law News Bulletins are a current awareness service of the National Indian Law Library. The purpose of the Indian Law Bulletins is to provide succinct and timely information about new developments in Indian Law.
Institute for American Indian Research
The Institute for Indigenous Research (IFAIR) brings together faculty members from across disciplines to center Native American Studies as theory and praxis in all areas of scholarship. We facilitate research by providing active support for faculty and graduate research, highlighting Indigenous studies initiatives across campus, and providing a forum for interdisciplinary conversation between and among Native and non-Native faculty and students committed to such issues.
Publications, Collections, & Legal Journals (N-Z)
Native American Press/Ojibwe News
The policy of the Native American Press/Ojibwe News (Press/ON) is to print the news accurately, to provide a forum for the voices of the people, and to encourage Indian people to empower ourselves by exposing corruption and demanding accountability from our governments. Press/ON is published in St. Paul, Minnesota.
Native American Times
An independently-owned newspaper published in print and electronic format, providing news geared toward the Native American perspective.
NativeWeb: News Digest
Native Law News Digest provides a good list of links (updated daily) to news items from all over Indian Country, including Canada.
Tribal Law Journal
The Tribal Law Journal was established in fall 1998 for the purpose of promoting indigenous self-determination by facilitating discussion of the internal law of the world's indigenous nations. The internal law of indigenous nations encompasses traditional law, western law adopted by indigenous nations, and a blend of western and indigenous law. Underscoring this purpose is the recognition that traditional law is a source of law. Since the Tribal Law Journal's inception, the Tribal Law Journal has become the premier indigenous law journal in the United States and is one of the few international legal journal sources dedicated to indigenous and tribal law.
World Cultures (eHRAF)
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Video: Searching eHRAF
In this video, you will learn how to conduct an advanced search in eHRAF World Cultures, including filtering and understanding search results. This tutorial utilizes the example of a research question on how infants and children contribute to or participate in the collection and gathering of roots for subsistence across societies in the African continent.
Wotanging Ikche (Native American News) This site contains find links to latest copy of Wotanging Ikche, along with links to a complete archive of all back issues. We dedicate this Page to Gary Night Owl for his efforts to keep the brothers and sisters who share our Spirit informed about current events within the lives of those who walk the Red Road.