Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to leave this page fast? Click here and a blank Google search page will appear.
Need to leave this page fast? Click here and the Wikipedia search page will appear.
Self-Help Books at the UNM Law Library
Family Law & Domestic Violence
Providing legal advocacy and other supportive services for at-risk children. Provide advice,information and referral, and legal representation in matters of uncontested guardianships.
Albuquerque Family Advocacy Center
Non-profit center providing multi-agency assistance to victims of interpersonal crime. The center combines legal assistance,emergency medical staff, victim advocates,financial assistance and liaising with law enforcement and prosecution.
New Mexico Asian Family Center
New Mexico Asian Family Center provides assistance including court advocacy and referrals to pro bono legal representation to Asians and their families including but not limited to issues involving family conflict, immigration rights,cultural adaptation and parenting issues. Translators available.
Coalition Against Domestic Violence
Provides information and referrals.Collaborates with agencies and advocates in the areas of program development, public policy,education and funding proposals.
Child Support Enforcement Division
Provides assistance in collecting child support from non-custodial parents. Help to establish paternity and help with court orders. They do not handle visitation and custody matters. Eligibility is open to everyone.
Children's Court -- 2nd Judicial District Court
Handles matters involving youth under 18 years old regarding:adoptions, child abuse and neglect,delinquency, emancipation,marriage authorization, mental health commitments (adult and child), sealing of juvenile records and criminal cases involving juvenile defendants. The Juvenile DWI/Drug Court provides substance abuse treatment for criminal cases involving juvenile DWI/Drugs. The Domestic Relations Division handles child support and custody matters
Dads Against Discrimination
Self-help non-profit organization that guides fathers (including those who are pro-se litigants) through the legal system as well as advocating for change. Available by appointment 9:30–5:00 M-F.
Desert State Life Management
Provides for conservatorship and other protective programs. Provides representative payee, personal representative and court visitor services on a case-by-case basis after evaluation of client situation.
Domestic Violence Division, 2nd Judicial District Court
Serves individuals seeking protective orders against family members, household members, or intimate partners due to domestic violence.
Domestic Violence Resource Center
Helpline provides free legal information and referrals. Walk-in services at Albuquerque Family Advocacy center.Legal representation available only in domestic violence and family law cases e.g. divorce proceedings,orders of protection, and parentage cases.
Provides victim advocacy and legal advice and services to immigrant and/or Spanish-speaking clients.
Law Access New Mexico
Provides free civil legal advice and referrals via telephone and fax only for low-income New Mexicans. Including but not limited to family law, landlord/tenant, public housing, public benefits, consumer law, child guardianship. Also hosts free workshops. They do not provide ongoing legal representation or go to court.Open 8:45-3:45 weekdays. Se habla español; translators available for other languages.
Pegasus Legal Services for Children
Provides direct legal representation, law related education, and systemic advocacy.We serve children and youth from age 0 to 23.Our main programs are kinship guardianship,abuse/neglect, education, family law for young parents, and advocacy for homeless and runaway youth.
Women's Resource Center
Advocates for abused women; provides free legal assistance for victims of domestic abuse; offers life skills classes, support groups,resource library, financial planning classes, career development, and play groups for children who have witnessed violence and abuse.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.