Research Guides: Human Rights & Refugee Law Research Guide: International Courts and Tribunals

Books in the Law Library: International Courts & Tribunals

African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights
The Commission hears complaints alleging violations of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights.
African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights
This court website contains a site search function as well as a browsable list of cases.
African Human Rights Law Case Analyzer
This resource offers access to African human rights law and case law in English, French and Portuguese.

European Court of Human Rights
Browse the Reports of Judgments and Decisions or conduct a search for cases using the HUDOC database.
European Committee of Social Rights
Browse the Digest of Decisions and Conclusions or conduct a search for documents using the HUDOC database.

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
Browse the Archive Decisions or Cases in the Court by year.
Inter-American Court of Human Rights
Users may search Jurisprudence by country and year.
SUMMA/IAHRS: Inter-American Case Law Database
SUMMA is an online database that offers access to cases heard by the Inter-American Commission and Court of Human Rights. It was developed by the Center for Justice and International Law (CEJIL) with support from HURIDOCS.

International Court of Justice
The main judicial organ of the United Nations. The International Court of Justice issues two categories of documents: contentious cases, for disputes between nations; and advisory proceedings, for legal interpretation for UN entities.
International Criminal Court: Cases
The International Criminal Court (ICC) investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes and crimes against humanity.
United Nations Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals (MICT): Case law database
The Case Law Database contains extracts of judgements and decisions rendered by the Appeals Chambers of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia since 1997, of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda since 2004, and of the MICT since 2012.
Residual Special Court for Sierra Leone
This site provides access to the complete archive of the Special Court for Sierra Leone trials, including transcripts and official records.
InfoCuria: Opinions of the Court of Justice of the European Union
InfoCuria gives access, primarily, to the documents of the Institution (principally the
judgments, Opinions, orders and notices to the Official Journal of the European Union), by means of a text search or a data search.