Updated, translated text of foreign tax and commercial laws (Mexico region); topics include Income and Corporate Tax Law, Value Added Tax (VAT), Corporation Law, Trust Law, Commercial Codes, Environmental Law, Money Laundering and other Regulations Affecting Financial Transactions, Labor Law, and Bankruptcy.
UNM faculty and currently enrolled students can request personal passwords at: http://ria.thomson.com/cploginids. Personal passwords allow interface customization and email alerts when database is accessed from: RIA Checkpoint. Instructions on accessing Mexican Tax Law: 1) Log onto Checkpoint, 2) Select "International" from the dropdown menu of "Practice Area" on the left-hand side of the page, 3) Select RIA Worldwide Tax.
Full-text access to international law publications, including prominent Yearbooks from around the world and proceedings of the American Society of International Law. Also contains U.S. law digests on international law and judicial decisions of the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice (1973-date).
Includes the current constitution of every country, substantial history of the constitutional law of several countries, including France and the United Kingdom, and a range of secondary materials and sources.
Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction IndexMultinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index is a finding aid designed to direct researchers to sources that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects. These print and electronic sources contain full-text legislation, statutory citation, or other references to primary law. To enhance the usefulness and function of the listings, the bibliographic entries include multiple data points: author/editor, title, publisher, year or “continually updated” (if looseleaf), formats (including ebooks and databases), frequency of updating, ISBN or ISSN (if in print), and database/website where electronic resource can be found. The titles included in this resource have been released from 2011 on by multiple publishers and are categorized under 280 primary subject headings.
While the subjects and jurisdictions listed for each resource, and even the existence of the titles themselves, are current for the edition reviewed, coverage of multinational resources is ephemeral and will likely vary with subsequent updates. Such is the nature of the dynamic state of global law and legal publishing. The authors will continue to update Multinational Sources Compared accordingly so that it is a useful finding aid for years to come.
The Global Women’s Leadership Project (GWLP), developed under the auspices of Under Secretary General and Executive Director of UN Women Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, has created a clearing house of information on laws that govern women’s status in the family, as the first phase of the UN Women’s Family Law database.
This is the first mapping of its kind that goes beyond the boundaries of traditional family law to examine the entire legal system of a country to identify the law’s subtle and powerful impact on a woman’s status in her family. Provisions that govern and control a woman’s relationship to her family inform her political, economic and social status. These unequal provisions are found in the laws governing property, inheritance, custody, guardianship, marriage, divorce, residence, citizenship, domicile, age of marriage, guardianship, female genital mutilation (FGM), “husband obedience “ and sex-selective laws, among others. In many countries around the world, family law is a locus of gender discrimination and magnifies the unequal status of women in the public sphere and limit their opportunity to participate in public life, whether political, economic or social.
The GWLP is one of the first efforts to map the panoramic sweep of laws that regulate a woman’s role in the family and society. The first phase of the database covers the 54 African countries; the 19 civil law countries in Latin America* and 32 states of Mexico; the 51 independent states of Europe; Israel; India; and Pakistan. The research on the Middle East is ongoing.
*Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela