Research Guides: Public International Law Research Guide: Treaties & Conventions: United States

Treaty Indexes

Treaties in Force
The official index to treaties in force, it is published annually by the Department of State to provide information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party as of January 1st in its most recent publication year.

A Guide to the United States Treaties in Force (Kavass) by United States This title supplements Treaties in Force with indexing of bilateral treaties by subject and multilateral treaties by county.
United States Treaty Index by Igor I. Kavass Some volumes or revised volumes have subtitle: 1776-2000 consolidation, where the final date may vary as the consolidation is extended. Replaces, in its entirety, the former UST cumulative indexing service, which began in 1973.

Kavass's Current Treaty Index This link opens in a new window
Revised twice per year, this is a companion to the United States Treaty Index. Because it is updated frequently, this is a good source of information about recent U.S. treaties.

Treaty & Document Collections

Treaty Documents [Congress.gov]
Tracks treaties from 1949 (81st Congress) to present through the Senate. Unlike bills which require final disposition, treaties remain in the Committee on Foreign Relations until the Senate has completed action by agreeing to the resolution of advice and consent to ratification or by returning the treaty document to the President.
more...less...
Treaty Numbering: Since the 97th Congress, treaty numbers use the Congress and a sequential number, such as 106-13. Prior to the 97th Congress, treaty numbers used a letter, the Congress and session numbers: Ex. X, 96th Congress, 2nd Session. Use the treaty number conversion table to identify the new number equivalent for old treaty numbers.
Congressional Documents
Hosted by U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO), the Congressional Documents collection consists of House Documents, Senate Documents, and Senate Treaty Documents. Search for Senate Treaty Documents (Treaty Doc.) by expanding the year of interest.
U.S. Deptartment of State: Treaty Affairs
The Office of Treaty Affairs provides guidance on all aspects of U.S. and international treaty law and practice. The Treaty Office is also responsible for managing the U.S. treaty archives, reporting eligible agreements to Congress under the Case Act, publishing texts of U.S. international agreements in the TIAS series, compiling the annual Treaties in Force publication, and registering U.S. international agreements with the United Nations.
Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (ENTRI)
Offers full text and status information for environmental treaties. ENTRI is a fast, convenient, comprehensive online service for accessing multilateral environmental treaty data. Find status data for environmental treaties, treaty text and other related information easily. Construct custom tables by selecting countries and treaties of interest to you.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (Charles J. Kappler)
Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, and presented by the Oklahoma State University Library, this compilation contains laws concerning Indian affairs up to 1971, treaties from 1778-1883, executive orders, and proclamations. Contains indexes and tables of contents. Accessible in text or printed page format. http://digital.library.okstate.edu/Kappler/
Digital versions now also available via GPO's govinfo: https://tinyurl.com/ycx55c9x
Internal Revenue Service, U. S. Income Tax Treaties
Provides access to tax treaties between the U.S. and particular countries. Search by country.

Historical Treaties (Pre-1950)

Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 by Charles I. Bevans 13 volume set. Volumes 1-4 are multilateral treaties arranged chronologically. Volumes 5-12 are bilateral treaties arranged by country. Volume 13 is the index.

Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America 1776-1949 (Bevans) [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new window
Compiled by Charles Bevans, this 13 volume set is considered the most complete collection of treaties and other agreements entered into by the U.S. 1776-1950.
Treaty Series [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline includes no. 491-A, 668 (1926) through 994 (1946) - the final issue of this title.
Executive Agreement Series [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new window
Published 1929-1946 to capture the growing body of U.S. executive agreements.

United States Statutes at Large

United States Statutes at Large, 1789-1875
Search the official record of Acts of Congress and concurrent resolutions passed by the U.S. Congress. The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

U.S. Statutes at Large [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the United States Statutes at Large (1789-2011). The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.

Current or Pending Treaties (post-1950)

UST and TIAS are available through Hein Online under their U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library. If you have any questions, please contact the Law Library’s reference desk at (505) 277-0935 or at libref@law.unm.edu

Treaties and Agreements Library [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to guides, indexes, publications, and other texts on United States treaties from 1776 to present. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements There is a twenty (20) year lag time between ratification and official publication of treaties. You may search for this information through HeinOnline in their Treaties and Agreements Library. Refine this search with "UST (1950-1984)"
Treaties and Other International Acts Series by United States TIAS is not longer issued in print. You may search for this information through HeinOnline in their Treaties and Agreements Library. Refine this search with "TIAS (1982-1999) and the U.S. State Department, T.I.A.S. (1996-2000)"

KAV Agreements (U.S. Treaties and other agreements) [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new window
A source of treaties entered into by the U.S. not yet published in UST or TIAS. Treaties appearing in this series are identified by a "KAV" number.

Legal Research Guides

Public International Law Research Guide: Treaties & Conventions: United States

United States Treaties: Official Publications Overview

Treaty Indexes

Treaty & Document Collections

Historical Treaties (Pre-1950)

Current or Pending Treaties (post-1950)

Contact Us

Address