Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Immigration Law Resources
Researching immigration law can be complicated; it is continually changing and involves laws, administrative regulations. and decisions from multiple federal agencies and the federal courts of appeal.
When researching Immigration consider a variety of search terms:
- Emigration Law
- Immigration Law
- Political Refuges
Additional titles may be found by searching the Law Library Catalog with the following subject headings:
- Political refugees -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- United States
- Asylum, Right of -- United States
- Emigration and immigration law -- United States
- Deportation -- United States
- Aliens -- United States
- Citizenship -- United States
Books on Immigration Law
The below print materials are available at the UNM Law Library. For questions about access please contact the Law Library’s reference desk at (505) 277-0935 or at firstname.lastname@example.org
The Criminal Lawyer's Guide to Immigration Law by Pt. I. Aliens and government. Strangers in an even stranger land: aliens and immigration law after September 11, 2001 ; Immigration law for criminal lawyers ; Border stops. Pt. II. Aliens and criminal convictions. Immigration consequences of criminal convictions ; Aggravated felonies. Pt. III. Immigration crimes. Alien employment crimes ; Marriage fraud ; Alien smuggling and hostage taking ; Immigration document fraud and false statements. Pt. IV. Reentry after deportation and illegal entry. Illegal entry and reentry: pretrial and trial ; Illegal entry and reentry: pleas and sentencing. Pt. V. Alien witnesses and defendants. Getting witnesses and evidence from abroad ; International extradition ; Treaty transfers: aliens there and citizens here.
Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook: A Comprehensive Outline and Reference Tool by One volume. A popular resource among practitioners, this is a condensed, comprehensive and well-organized overview which uses an outline format. Includes discussion of important cases, regulations, statutes and agency rulings. Designed for use by practitioners and students; covering Immigration law history, rights, refugees, visas, admissions, reviews, Naturalization, and more
Representing Clients in Immigration Court by
Call Number: KF337.5 I45R48 2010
Publication Date: 2010
A helpful one-volume practice guide for practitioners representing clients in Immigration Court, compiled and edited by CLINIC staff (the Catholic Legal Immigration Network). Provides an introduction to basic concepts involved in removal proceedings; subsequent chapters give detailed information on grounds of deportability and admissibility and particular kinds of removal cases, including adjustment of status, waivers, and asylum. The Appendices contain sample forms.
Interpreter Releases by
Call Number: KF 4800 A6A5
Widely read by practitioners. Weekly publication; analyzes proposed regulations in Homeland Security, Justice, Labor and State Departments; also includes analysis of legislation, agency memoranda, decisions, policy letters related to immigration, and judicial decisions. Contains summaries of recent cases from immigration court, the BIA and federal courts.
Books & Electronic Resources about Immigration Law
The materials below are also available in print at the Law Library and may be available through Westlaw and LexisNexis. For questions about access please contact the Law Library’s reference desk at (505) 277-0935 or at email@example.com
Bender's Immigration Bulletin by Bender’s Immigration Bulletin is the bimonthly digest that keeps immigration practitioners up to date with new laws, regulations, and expert analysis. Includes separately numbered volumes consisting of: Bulletins, index and tables; Practice materials, finding aids.
Immigration Law and Defense by
Two-volume loose leaf publication. A concise explanation of key aspects of immigration law with citations to primary sources. Contains forms, court rules and sample motions.
Immigration Law and the Family by
One-volume looseleaf updated annually. Analyzes the law and procedure involved in becoming a U.S. lawful permanent resident through a family relationship. Includes overview of the family-sponsored visa preference system, immigration based on marriage, and immigration by children and other relatives of permanent residents or U.S. citizens. Detailed coverage of documenting and filing a visa petition, adjustment of status, consular processing, waivers of admissibility, adoption and orphans, derivative beneficiaries, citizenship and naturalization, and other family-based immigration issues. Includes forms and sample letters.
Immigration Law and Procedure by
A twenty volume looseleaf set; considered by many to be the definitive immigration law treatise. Includes reprints of primary sources (statutes, regulations), agency documents (BALCA Deskbook, INS Manuals, INS Examinations Handbook, INS Interpretations, Foreign Affairs Manual, U.N. Documents) and forms.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.