Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources on Constitutional Law History
Free Resources on Constitutional Law
American Memory Project
Search for Statutes at Large, American State Papers, and U.S. Serial Set; Journals of Congress; and Debates of Congress including the Annals of Congress, the Register of Debates, the Congressional Globe, the Congressional Record, and a lot more.
The Avalon Project: The American Constitution
Hosted at Yale Law School. Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. Includes: Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Notes on the debates in the Federal Convention, Federalist Papers, and the Ratification Resolutions of the States
The First Amendment Encyclopedia
A searchable website hosted by Middle Tennessee State University with more than thousands of essays and articles about court decisions and doctrines; people, law and events; and general issues and organizations significant in the First Amendment's history in the United States.
The Founder’s Constitution
Hailed as "the Oxford English Dictionary of American constitutional history," the print edition of The Founders' Constitution has proved since its publication in 1986 to be an invaluable aid to all those seeking a deeper understanding of one of our nation's most important legal documents. This Web Edition is a joint venture of the
University of Chicago Press and the Liberty Fund.
United States Constitution
Hosted by Library of Congress' Primary Documents in American History
The Debates in the Several State Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution [American Memory Project]
The Debates in the Several State Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution is a five-volume collection compiled by Jonathan Elliot in the mid-nineteenth century. The volumes remain the best source for materials about the national government's transitional period between the closing of the Constitutional Convention in September 1787 and the opening of the First Federal Congress in March 1789. This resource is also available in print at the UNM School of Law Library.
The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787 [American Memory Project]
Published in 1911, documentary records of the Constitutional Convention into 4 volumes--three of which are included in this online collection. Full resource available at the UNM Law Library.
Subscription Resources on Constitutional Law
CQ Press Historic Document Series
CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition collects more than 2,500 primary sources covering current events around the world from 1972 to the present. This online edition is well organized and provides excellent tools for exploring these rich resources. Access with your UNM NetID and password.
Legal Classics [HeinOnline]
Full-text access to 580 legal monographs published from 1802 to 1979. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
After visiting HeinOnline's Legal Classics collection, Browse by subject and select the term, "Civil Rights" or "Constitution"
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926 [Gale]
22,000 legal treatises digitized and searchable on U.S. and British law from 1800 -1926. Presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
Legal Classics Library: Constitutional Law [HeinOnline]
Full-text access to an extensive collection of modern and historical (1776 to present) legal periodicals and monographs including documents on international and foreign jurisdiction, U.S. treaties, U.S Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General, and more. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.