Research Guides: Legislative & Administrative Process: Federal Legislation & Statutes

Tracking Federal Legislation

Congress.Gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes congressional activity (updated the morning after adjournment), bills (1973 to date), committee reports (1995 to date), congressional record (1995 to date), public laws (1973 to date), and treaties (1975 to date).

Westlaw for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. UNM law faculty, staff, and students--please speak with a Librarian if you need password assistance.

For federal bill tracking on Westlaw: Statutes & Court Rules → Tools & Resources → Bill Tracking ** Use Advanced Search

LexisNexis for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to Lexis web courses.

For federal bill tracking on Lexis: Statutes & Legislation → Bill Tracking

United States Code [Law Revision Counsel]
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.

Warning: Unannotated!

Westlaw for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to TWEN web courses. UNM law faculty, staff, and students--please speak with a Librarian if you need password assistance.

Search United States Code Annotated on Westlaw

LexisNexis for Law Schools This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of primary and secondary legal research resources; includes access to Lexis web courses.

Search United States Code Service on Lexis Advance

Congress.Gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes congressional activity (updated the morning after adjournment), bills (1973 to date), committee reports (1995 to date), congressional record (1995 to date), public laws (1973 to date), and treaties (1975 to date).

ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Proxy access for UNM students/staff/faculty (NetID and password).
Electronic access to CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress 1833 forward; Serial Set, Congressional Record, and Statutes at large 1789 forward; Congressional hearing abstracts and indexing 1824 forward; CRS reports 1916 forward; Treaties with Indian Tribes, 1778-1874; Treaties with Foreign Nations, 1776-1949; and more.

Federal Digital System [GovInfo FDsys]
The U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) provides permanent, free public access to official Federal Government information.

U.S. Federal Legislative History Library [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to an extensive collection of materials on federal legislative history, including: Sources of Compiled Legislative History Database & US Federal Legislative History Title Collection.