Research Guides: Environmental & Natural Resources Law: Subscription Resources

Electronic Resources for Legal Research

Electronic resources are not always the best place to begin your research, but electronic resources are an essential part of the research process. In many cases, electronic resources will link you to breaking news on your topic. The Law Library subscribes to many high-quality electronic resources and can provide guidance to locate the best, most authoritative free resources.

When you discover an electronic research resource by searching the World Wide Web, be sure to carefully evaluate it for accuracy and trustworthiness.

Looking for Journal Articles?

Use the UNM Law Library Guide to Finding Journal Articles to locate both abstracts and full-text articles from a variety of sources.

Subscription Resources on Environment and Natural Resources Law

Climatewire This link opens in a new window
Coverage of national and global climate issues. Areas of focus include U.S. state programs, U.S. federal legislation, the development of a post-Kyoto climate regime, Kyoto protocol implementation issues, natural resource effects from a changing climate and how corporations are adapting to a greenhouse gas constrained world. Other issues include: alternative energy finance, research and deployment; U.S. federal agency programs, and the science of climate change.
Energywire This link opens in a new window
Coverage of national and global energy issues. Areas of focus include oil, gas and alternative energy sources.
Environment & Energy Daily This link opens in a new window
Source of information to track environmental and energy action in Congress. Archives available from 2003 to present.
Environment & Energy News PM This link opens in a new window
A late afternoon roundup providing coverage of all the breaking and developing policy news from Capitol Hill, around the country and around the world. A must-read for the key players who need to be ahead of the next day's headlines. Archives available from 2006 to present.
Environmental Law Reporter This link opens in a new window
Database published by Environmental Law Institute, and devoted to environmental, natural resources, toxic tort, health/safety, and land use law and policy. Useful for federal and state government attorneys and managers, the public interest community, private sector manufacturing, land and real estate companies, federal and state courts, educators, and others. Includes updates, news & analysis (including state, federal, and international), statutes, treaties, regulations and other administrative material, and briefs & pleadings from 1971 to present.
Greenwire This link opens in a new window
Covers environmental issues being debated today in every state, the White House, federal agencies, and the courts. Greenwire also collects and summarizes the most important environmental coverage from hundreds of other print, broadcast, and online sources. Archives contain all editions from 2003 to present.
Foundation for Natural Resources and Environmental Law Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Foundation's Digital Library includes books and manuals from its Annual and Special Institutes as well as a number of original articles published in its biannual Journal.
From the Fastcase start screen, select Browse Libraries, then All Federal. The FNREL materials are listed in the Secondary Material box.
FNREL was formerly known as the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation (RMMLF),

Subscription Sources for Congressional Research Service Reports

ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Proxy access for UNM students/staff/faculty (NetID and password).
Electronic access to CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress 1833 forward; Serial Set, Congressional Record, and Statutes at large 1789 forward; Congressional hearing abstracts and indexing 1824 forward; CRS reports 1916 forward; Treaties with Indian Tribes, 1778-1874; Treaties with Foreign Nations, 1776-1949; and more.