Research Guides: Federal Government Documents & Legislation Research Guide: Presidential Documents

Print Resources

Law Library Search
Search the Law Library catalog.

Best bet subject headings:

Constitutional Conflicts Between Congress and the President by Louis Fisher
ISBN: 9780700619979
Publication Date: 2014
Strategic Selection by Christine L. Nemacheck
ISBN: 9780813926148
Publication Date: 2007
Executive Orders and the Modern Presidency: Legislating from the Oval Office by Adam L. Warber
Call Number: eBook, UNM Libraries
Publication Date: 2006

Subscription & Web Resources on Presidental Documents

Getting Started
Public Papers

Presidential Documents: Getting Started

Daily and weekly compilations include proclamations, executive orders, speeches, White House announcements, signing and veto statements, nominations, appointments and press releases.

U.S. Presidential Library [HeinOnline] This link opens in a new window
This group of documents includes daily and weekly compilations of Presidential documents, public papers, Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations, and lots more.
Presidential Documents [Westlaw] This link opens in a new window
Contains executive and administrative orders, proclamations, trade agreement letters, and other executive documents. Coverage of executive orders begins in 1936.

Summary of Bills Vetoed, 1789-present
Presidential Libraries [National Archives]
Presidential Libraries and Museums promote understanding of the presidency and the American experience. Access research guides and links to Presidential materials and the Presidential libraries.
Compilation of Presidential Documents [GovInfo FDsys]
Materials are made available in electronic format on a daily basis. The Digest of White House Announcements, Nominations Submitted to the Senate, Checklist of White House Press Releases, and Acts Approved by the President will continue to be made available electronically on a weekly basis.
State of the Union Addresses [GovInfo FDsys]
Covering 1994 to the present, and searchable by President, date, or subject.
Budget of the United States Government [GovInfo FDsys]
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Economic Report of the President [GovInfo FDsys]
An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
The White House
Includes information about members of the administration, speeches, press briefings, statements, appointments, and nominations.
American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database. The Presidents' Messages and Papers, Public Papers, and Documents. These archives also contain thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

Presidential Documents: Dig Deeper into Public Papers

The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States are the official record of the public writings, addresses, and remarks of the President. The series began with the Presidency of Herbert Hoover, but excludes the papers of President Franklin Roosevelt which had already been published privately. Per Bluebook Rule 14.7(b), you should always cite to the Public Papers if a document has been published therein.

Public Papers of Presidents [LexisNexis] This link opens in a new window
Contains Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents and its predecessor The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. Includes presidential statements, remarks, and other materials released by the press secretary.

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States [GovInfo FDsys]
These papers include the dates 1991-2012, from George H.W. Bush to Barack Obama.
Presidential Libraries [National Archives]
Presidential Libraries and Museums promote understanding of the presidency and the American experience. Access research guides and links to Presidential materials and the Presidential libraries.

Public papers of the Presidents of the United States (1956-1992) by President of the United States
Call Number: KF 47 P7 (Lower Level)
Containing the public messages, speeches, and statements of the President, 1956-1992.

Legal Research Guides

Federal Government Documents & Legislation Research Guide: Presidential Documents

Print Resources

Subscription & Web Resources on Presidental Documents

Presidential Documents: Getting Started

Presidential Documents: Dig Deeper into Public Papers

Contact Us

Address